Bodily Injury Requirements in Alaska
If you're at fault for a car accident you'll need bodily injury liability to help pay for the other party's medical expenses. In Alaska, you're required to carry the minimum liability limits by law under your auto coverage.
Bodily injury limits need to be at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. While only the state minimums are required, you may want more protection to avoid paying personally for a loss.
Property Damage Requirements in Alaska
Property damage liability on your auto policy will cover the vehicle or property of another party if you're at fault. Alaska property damage coverage is required under the state minimum limits. In Alaska you'll be responsible for having at least $25,000 in property damage liability when using the roadways.
Even though you're only required to carry the minimum limits in Alaska, you may want more protection. Most crashes that result in property damage cost more than the mandated $25,000. Discuss your options with a trusted adviser.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Alaska
In Alaska, you're not required to carry personal injury protection on your auto policy. However, medical payments coverage is an option that can help pay for the medical expenses of you or someone else involved in a car accident.
If you're found without medical payments coverage, you could be on the hook for a large bodily injury expense that you're not prepared for. Medical payment limits typically start at $5,000 and cost minimal additional premium in most cases.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Alaska
Uninsured motorist coverage is not a requirement in Alaska, but still very necessary. With Alaska having 15.4% of its drivers currently uninsured, you could be at great risk.
Uninsured motorist coverage will pay for any damage or injury that you may sustain resulting from an accident with an uninsured driver. It protects you when the other driver is at fault but can't pay because they don't have proper insurance.
Optional Car Coverage in Alaska
Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are both considered full coverage when added in addition to your required auto liability. These are optional limits that are necessary if you want protection for your vehicles.
Roadside assistance is another optional coverage that helps pay for a tow or tire change when you're stranded on the side of the road. If you're involved in an accident and need a replacement vehicle while yours is repaired, then rental car coverage can help. Check out these and more with your auto carrier for proper protection.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Alaska
When it comes to obtaining discounts on your Alaska auto insurance premium, there are a few options. Carriers like to provide discounts on insurance when you have more than one line of business with them. A reduction of 30% or more is standard for multiple policy discounts.
When you're part of a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, insurance companies usually award a 5% to 10% discount on coverage. The same is true if you've loyally been with a carrier for an extended period of time, typically 3 years or more.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Alaska
Filing a loss doesn't have to be difficult if you work with the right agent and know the order of events. Check out these 4 easy steps to filing a car insurance claim in Alaska:
First, it's important you get to a safe place and seek any necessary medical attention. Second, you'll want to call your independent agent to report the claim. Third, obtain the filed claim number and line up a replacement vehicle if coverage allows. Last, set up a time to meet with your assigned adjuster and collect payment.