Bodily Injury Requirements in Arizona
Arizona requires $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage. If you're a licensed driver, you must obtain at least these limits to meet state guidelines.
Bodily injury liability insurance will help pay for another party's medical bills when you're at fault for an accident. Most of the time, insureds find that the state-required limits are not sufficient, and they tend to increase these amounts for enough protection.
Property Damage Requirements in Arizona
One of the requirements in Arizona is property damage liability. This limit needs to be in the amount of $15,000 or more in order to comply with state law.
Often, insureds find that the Arizona minimum liability limits are not enough protection against a substantial claim. It's best to speak with a licensed professional for coverage recommendations that make sense for your situation.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Arizona
In Arizona, personal injury protection on your auto policy is not a requirement. Instead, most insureds have what's called medical payments coverage. This protection helps pay for medical expenses for you or an injured party when you are involved in an auto accident.
Contrary to popular belief, you won't have coverage for your medical expenses as the driver when you're at fault for an accident and without medical payments protection. If you crash into the side of your house and get injured, you'll only have your medical bills paid for by your auto insurance if you have this limit on your policy.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Arizona
When you're shopping for insurance, don't forget about uninsured motorist coverage. This protection is not a requirement in Arizona. However, it's extremely necessary if you want proper coverage. It will help pay for damage or injury arising out of an accident with an uninsured driver.
Even though insurance is mandatory at the state minimum limits in Arizona, not everyone follows those rules. This puts you and your family at risk every time you access the streets. In Arizona, 12.0% of the drivers on the road are uninsured.
Optional Car Coverage in Arizona
In Arizona, your car insurance policy will come with a variety of coverage options. To have full protection you'll want more than just the minimum limits of liability. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance will help pay for damage to your vehicle that occurs from a covered claim.
Another way to have added protection is through rental car reimbursement coverage, which pays for you to use a temporary car while yours is in the shop. And you can't forget about roadside assistance for times when you get stranded on the side of the highway needing a tow or have a flat tire. This coverage will pay for that expense, often deductible-free.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Arizona
Your Arizona insurance company will allow for discounts on your premiums. An auto policy will have an option for several ways to save, and the biggest is a multiple policy discount on insurance. When you have more than one policy with your carrier, they reward you with a savings of 30% or more.
If you're a member of an association such as a teachers union, government agency, or attorney group, you can save anywhere from 5% to 10% with some insurance companies. Last, if you've been a loyal supporter of your carrier for a span of 3 years or more, then you'll typically get a price cut on your car insurance.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Arizona
When you need to file a car insurance claim in Arizona, it can be confusing to know what to do in the heat of the moment. Fortunately, with the right agent and the 4 easy steps below, you can efficiently handle a claim.
The first thing you'll want to do in the event of a car accident is ensure everyone's safety and seek necessary medical attention. The second item on your list is to call your independent insurance agent to report your claim. Third, you'll want to obtain your claim number for reference and a rental car if you have the coverage. Finally, get a date and time set with your adjuster and collect payment for your loss.