If you own a vehicle in Arkansas, you are required to purchase auto insurance. You must have the following coverage at a minimum in order to comply with the law:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
Bodily injury liability insurance covers you if you are at fault in an accident and someone other than yourself is injured. Property damage liability insurance covers damage to another person's vehicle or property in an accident that is your fault.
Insurance companies in Arkansas must also offer uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, but you can waive it. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage protects you if you are hit by a hit-and-run driver or by a driver who does not have sufficient auto liability insurance to cover your losses.
In addition, you can include several other coverage options in your car insurance policy in Arkansas. These include medical payments/personal injury protection, collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, gap insurance, towing and roadside assistance, rental car reimbursement, and more.
Contact an independent auto insurance agent in Arkansas for the coverage you need.