While every driver has unique coverage needs, the average premium in Arkansas falls below national and regional averages.
A local Trusted Choice® member agent can help you compare Arkansas auto insurance quotes and find the right insurer for your vehicle. Your agent will also provide you with excellent customer service any time you need to ask questions or file claims on your policy. Find a member agent in your area today and get the help you need to find just the right coverage.
Arkansas Car Insurance Costs
- National average cost per year: $1,474
- Arkansas average cost per year: $1,399
- 25th least expensive premium in the US
These numbers will give you a rough idea of what you can expect to pay for your Arkansas car insurance premiums. However, your own rates could vary considerably. For example, some of the factors that will affect your premiums include:
- The age and value of your vehicle
- How many drivers in your household use your car
- Ages and driving records of all drivers
Even your credit record can affect your car insurance premiums. To get the exact policy cost to protect your auto, you’ll need to get personal quotes. An independent agent can help you compare Arkansas auto insurance quotes from several different insurance companies.
Arkansas Car Insurance Requirements
- Bodily injury liability: required
- Property damage liability: required
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP):required
- Uninsured motorist: not required
- Minimum liability limits: 25/50/25
- Coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident, subject to a limit of $25,000 for one individual, and $25,000 coverage for property damage.
Some drivers may not elect to purchase full coverage on their vehicles. For example, if you have an older car, you may choose not to buy comprehensive coverage. However, you will need to purchase the minimum requirements in order to comply with state laws. Violations can result in increasingly stiff fines, and repeated violations may even result in jail time.
Arkansas Uninsured Motorists Data
- National uninsured motorists: 12.6%
- Arkansas uninsured motorists: 16%
- Arkansas average vehicle repair cost: $2,661
The percentage of Arkansas drivers without required insurance is over the national average. Keep in mind that, if an uninsured or underinsured driver causes an accident, you won’t necessarily get compensated for your losses. Uninsured motorists are responsible for the damage they cause, including your property damage and medical costs, but there is no guarantee these drivers have enough insurance to cover those costs.
As a resident of Arkansas, you aren’t required to buy uninsured motorist coverage, but it may be a prudent purchase. With an uninsured/underinsured motorist policy in place, your insurance company will compensate you for damages caused by a delinquent driver.
Thefts in Arkansas
- National car theft rate (per 1,000 registered vehicles): 2.94
- Arkansas car theft rate (per 1,000 registered vehicles): 2.38
While these statistics are meant to give you an idea of your risks, keep in mind that even within the state of Arkansas, these risks vary depending upon whether you live in the city, the suburbs or rural areas. Your premium costs will also reflect this risk. For example, if you live in a high crime neighborhood, the theft rate might be higher than a remote country town, and thus you’ll pay more to insure your car.
Make sure you talk to your agent about the risks in your area. It’s also a good idea to collect several quotes before you purchase a car insurance policy in Arkansas.
Find and Compare Arkansas Auto Insurance Quotes
To make sure you get the best value for your money, consult a Trusted Choice member agent in your local area. These agents are happy to help you compare multiple Arkansas car insurance companies, select the right best options for your needs, and provide you with excellent customer service.
Find a local member agent today to get the help you need with your auto coverage and find the best policy for you.