Bodily Injury Requirements in Connecticut
Each state has specific guidelines when it comes to your auto insurance. In Connecticut, you're required to carry the minimum bodily injury liability limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Bodily injury liability insurance helps pay for the other party's medical expenses when you're the one at fault for a car accident. In order to have enough protection and not have to pay out of pocket, you'll want to review your coverage amounts.
Property Damage Requirements in Connecticut
Property damage liability is required in Connecticut and in most other states. You'll need to obtain a limit of $25,000 in order to meet local laws.
The majority of insureds opt for a more robust policy that has increased limits of protection so that they're fully covered. The state minimum requirements are not usually enough defense in a more substantial claim.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Connecticut
When you're shopping for auto insurance, personal injury protection is not required by state law. However, you'll want some coverage for medical expenses that you incur due to an at-fault accident.
Medical payments coverage can be added to your car insurance policy for an additional premium. If you sustain injuries from an accident that you're responsible for, this coverage will foot the bill.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Connecticut
In Connecticut, uninsured motorist coverage is required by law and necessary for proper protection. In this state, 9.4% of drivers are without insurance. This puts you and your family at risk when you're on the road.
Uninsured motorist insurance will cover any of your damage or injuries when you're involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. Even though uninsured motorist coverage is mandatory, not everyone follows the rules. To have the right coverage, review your policy with an adviser.
Optional Car Coverage in Connecticut
When you're shopping for car insurance, Connecticut policies will come with several optional coverages. If you want full coverage, then collision insurance and comprehensive insurance will help pay for damage to your vehicle and should be included in addition to your liability protection.
Another option is gap insurance, which helps pay for the difference between your loan amount and the market value of a new auto. And don't forget about roadside assistance for when you're stranded, or rental car coverage to temporarily replace your vehicle.
Car Insurance Discounts in Connecticut
In Connecticut, you'll have the opportunity to qualify for certain auto coverage discounts. The largest is a multiple policy discount on insurance. If you have more than one policy with a carrier, they reward you with savings of 30% or more.
Other discounts come when you're a member of an association, or if you have been loyal to the same carrier for a specific number of years. Each insurance company is different, so discuss your ways to save with a licensed professional.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Connecticut
When you're looking to file a car insurance claim in Connecticut, it can be a challenge to understand what comes next. Fortunately, with the right adviser and 4 easy steps, you'll be able to handle a claim with ease.
The first thing you'll want to do is make sure that everyone is safe and any injuries are tended to. Second, contact your independent insurance agent to file a claim. Third, collect your claims number for reference and get a rental car if necessary. Finally, connect with your adjuster to finalize your claim payment.