Bodily Injury Requirements in Minnesota
Bodily injury liability insurance helps pay for the other driver's medical bills due to an at-fault accident. In Minnesota, you'll be required to carry the minimum limits of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability insurance.
However, the majority of the time, insureds opt for higher limits to avoid paying out of pocket for a loss. You can review your coverages with a trained adviser for accuracy.
Property Damage Requirements in Minnesota
In Minnesota, property damage liability is required under your auto policy and helps pay for damage to another party's property due to an at-fault accident. If you're responsible for an accident and don't have this coverage, then you'll be on the hook for the expense.
Minnesota law mandates that all drivers on the road carry a minimum limit of $10,000 in property damage liability. With the price of vehicles on the road these days, $10,000 isn't typically enough to pay for a loss.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Minnesota
Some states require you to carry personal injury protection, or PIP, on your auto policy. In Minnesota, you're responsible for having $40,000 in PIP to use the roadways.
Contrary to popular belief, you're not covered for injuries that you sustain from an at-fault accident without PIP coverage. That means you'll be on the hook for anything your health insurance won't cover.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Minnesota
In Minnesota, uninsured motorist coverage is required by law in order to drive. This protection is especially useful, because it helps pay for any damage or injury to you caused by an accident involving an uninsured driver.
While car insurance is mandatory in Minnesota, there are still people that go without it. Minnesota has 11.5% of its driving population uninsured. This leaves you at risk when you're not properly covered.
Optional Car Coverage in Minnesota
If you're wanting protection for your vehicles themselves, you'll need to add more than the minimum limits of liability required. Having collision insurance and comprehensive insurance helps pay for damage to your autos that otherwise wouldn't have coverage in the event of a collision.
Another protection that some insureds opt in for is rental car coverage. This pays for a replacement vehicle when yours is in the shop due to a covered claim. And if you're stranded on the side of the road and need a tow or tire changed, roadside assistance can be added to your policy for a premium.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Minnesota
In Minnesota, there are several ways you can obtain a discount on insurance. One of the most popular is by having numerous policies with the same carrier. A discount of 30% or more is typical using this multiple policy discount.
If you're part of a teachers union or government agency, your insurance company may have an association discount to look for as well. And if you're in the habit of staying with the same carrier for an extended period, ask if you're getting a loyalty discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Minnesota
To file a car insurance claim in the most efficient way, there are simple things you can remember. By following these 4 easy steps when filing an auto claim in Minnesota, you can save time.
First, get to a safe place and tend to any injuries that you may have sustained. Next, contact your independent insurance agent and report the claim. Third, obtain your claim number and a rental vehicle if necessary. Last, schedule a meeting with your adjuster to go over the loss and get paid.