Bodily Injury Requirements in Mississippi
In Mississippi, bodily injury liability insurance is required by state law. It helps pay for another driver's injuries due to an at-fault accident.
The bodily injury liability necessary to utilize the streets in Mississippi is a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Most insureds obtain higher limits than these to have sufficient protection.
Property Damage Requirements in Mississippi
Property damage liability pays for damage to another person's property when an at-fault auto accident occurs. Each state usually requires a minimum limit of protection in order to use the roadways.
In Mississippi, $25,000 in property damage liability is required by law. If you're found without this coverage you could be fined or responsible for a loss out of pocket.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Mississippi
Some states require personal injury protection, which helps pay for your medical expenses when you are involved in an at-fault accident. In Mississippi, this is not a requirement, but you can obtain medical payments protection.
Medical payments coverage works in the same manner and helps pay for medical bills that may arise due to injury from an auto accident. Without this limit on your car policy, you'll be responsible for paying your medical expenses in an at-fault loss.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Mississippi
Uninsured motorists coverage provides insurance for your medical expenses and property damage when you're involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. Unfortunately, Mississippi does not require uninsured motorist protection like some other states, but it's still a necessary coverage to have.
In Mississippi, 23.7% of the driving population is without insurance. That means that every time you get on the road, you're at financial risk without uninsured motorist coverage.
Optional Car Coverage in Mississippi
In addition to the state minimum limits set forth by Mississippi laws, you'll have optional coverages to choose from for a more robust policy. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance will help pay for damage to your vehicle when an accident occurs, and is considered full coverage.
Roadside assistance can help if you become stranded on the road and need a tow or tire replaced. Another popular coverage is rental car insurance, which provides a replacement vehicle in the event of a covered claim. You can go over which limits are best suited for your needs with a trusted adviser.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Mississippi
In Mississippi, you may not know which discounts to ask for when getting car insurance. The top way to cut costs is to have the multiple policy discount for having more than one policy with a carrier. The same is true for how safe your vehicle is, the fewer risks you have while driving, the bigger the discount on insurance.
You can also save by being part of an association such as a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. A loyalty discount can help reduce premiums by 5% to 10% when you've been with the same carrier for a specific number of years.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Mississippi
If you've ever been involved in a car accident, you know that it's an adrenaline, rush making it difficult to think clearly. To keep things simple, take a look at these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Mississippi.
First, find a safe place out of harm's way and seek necessary medical attention. Second, get your independent insurance agent on the phone to file the claim. Third, secure a rental car if necessary and obtain your claim number from your agent. Last, set up a meeting with your adjuster to go over the damage and collect payment.