Oklahoma Car Insurance FAQ - Quick Answers

On average, Oklahoma drivers pay $1,496 per year for car insurance. This comes in higher than the national figure of $1,311 annually. If you're trying to save premium dollars, consider obtaining quotes from a local expert that works with multiple carriers at once. 

Your Oklahoma car insurance policy will look different from everyone else's, but here are some common policy coverages you may have:

  • Bodily injury liability: Pays for medical expenses of others.
  • Property damage liability: Pays for property damage of others.
  • Medical payments: Pays for your medical expenses.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Pays for an accident involving an uninsured/underinsured motorist.
  • Comprehensive: This covers the cost to repair or replace your vehicle if it is damaged or totaled by a non-collision event such as a hailstorm or theft.
  • Collision: Pays for a collision with another vehicle, animal, or property.

In Oklahoma, you're required to carry the minimum limits of liability coverage shown below:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage liability

When it comes to obtaining car insurance, you'll want the best coverage for your situation. In Oklahoma, Progressive, Prime, and Stillwater insurance companies are used by many. These carriers come highly rated due to their exceptional claims handling and customer service.

No. Oklahoma is an "at-fault" car insurance state. This means that the person responsible for causing the auto accident is the one that pays for damage and injuries sustained.

No. Car insurance can typically only be purchased by a licensed driver in Oklahoma. If you have your learners permit, some carriers allow you to be added to the car insurance for good measure. 

In Oklahoma, you are required to have insurance when registering a vehicle. You are also usually only given 30 days to register your vehicle in the state in which you reside. Most carriers have a strict rule about offering insurance only for the rightful state in which the vehicle is registered, because each state has different laws and guidelines. 

Do You Know What Your Car Insurance Covers in Oklahoma?

Find the Best Car Insurance in Your City

How does your city measure up to the national average?

National average time spent commuting 26.9 Min

National average car thefts per 1,000 2.3 Year

National average car insurance cost $1,311 Year

CityCommute time (min)Auto thefts / 1,000Annual insurance cost
Bartlesville17.12.74$1,254
Broken Arrow21.11.6$1,389
Edmond22.61.26$1,348
Enid17.12.28$1,248
Lawton15.42.81$1,234
Midwest City213.38$1,558
Moore242.3$1,477
Muskogee17.13.04$1,392
Norman22.52.76$1,376
Oklahoma City21.45.76$1,693
Owasso21.51.54$1,373
Shawnee20.44.87$1,470
Stillwater16.21.16$1,219
Tulsa18.67.55$1,556
Yukon22.50.96$1,316

Bodily Injury Requirements in Oklahoma

Your auto policy will need several coverages to fully protect you in the event of a loss. Bodily injury liability coverage is required and necessary to avoid financial ruin.

In Oklahoma, bodily injury liability limits need to be set at minimum to $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage will help pay for the medical expenses of others when you're at fault for an accident. 

Property Damage Requirements in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, you'll need property damage liability to help pay for any expenses when you're at fault and cause damage to another party's property. Almost every state has this coverage as a requirement in some shape or form.

The lowest amount of coverage you can have in Oklahoma is $25,000 in property damage liability. Without the state minimum requirements, you could face serious penalties or worse.

Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, you will not be mandated to obtain personal injury protection, or PIP, under your auto policy. PIP can help pay for your medical expenses when you're at fault for an accident and become injured.

Fortunately, you can get a similar coverage called medical payments insurance that works the same way. This protection can ensure that you're covered when medical bills start stacking up.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Oklahoma

Uninsured motorist coverage is required in some states when taking out an auto policy. In Oklahoma, this is not a mandatory coverage, but that doesn't mean it's not necessary.

Uninsured motorist insurance can help pay for injuries and damage sustained when you're in a collision with an uninsured driver. Currently, Oklahoma has 10.5% of its drivers without coverage, making you susceptible to a loss. 

car

Save on Car Insurance

Our independent agents shop around to find you the best coverage.

Optional Car Coverage in Oklahoma

All car insurance policies come with optional coverages. In Oklahoma, collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are commonly chosen limits and can help pay for damage to your covered autos. 

To have full coverage you'll need at a minimum comprehensive and collision protection. Some other options may include rental car coverage when you're in need of a replacement vehicle and roadside assistance when you need a tow. 

Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Oklahoma

You could qualify for discounts on insurance and not even know it. Just by having multiple policies with the same carrier, you could cut costs by 30% or more.

And if you're part of an association like a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, then you could save another 10%. When you're loyal to one carrier for a number of years, they reward you with another premium reduction. Discuss more options with your trusted adviser to see what you qualify for.

How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Oklahoma

A car accident can be a nightmare if you're not sure what to do next and who's responsible. To keep it simple, take a look at these 4 steps for filing a car insurance claim in Oklahoma.

First, get safe and seek medical attention if necessary. Second, call your independent insurance agent to report the loss and obtain a claims number. Third, if you have rental car coverage and need it, use it. Last, schedule a meeting with your adjuster to go over the loss and collect payment.