Bodily Injury Requirements in Texas
When it comes to your car insurance, there are mandatory coverages that you must obtain in order to drive. Bodily injury liability insurance is one of them, and for good reason.
This coverage helps pay for the other party's medical expenses when you're found responsible for a claim. In Texas, bodily injury liability is a required coverage at the minimum limits of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
Property Damage Requirements in Texas
Property damage liability insurance is another mandatory coverage under your Texas auto policy. If you're found at fault for a car accident, any damage will be your responsibility and paid under this coverage.
In Texas, you must obtain at least $25,000 in property damage liability to be properly insured. When you don't have the right coverage, you could face financial issues severe penalties following an accident.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Texas
Some states require personal injury protection, or PIP, which helps pay for your personal medical bills if you become injured in an at-fault car accident. In Texas, you are not mandated to carry PIP, however, medical payments coverage can do a similar thing and is a good option.
If you are without medical payments coverage, you will be responsible for any hospital bills. To avoid a serious financial setback, consult with your licensed agent about the right limits for your auto policy.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Texas
Uninsured motorist coverage is another vital coverage that helps pay for your loss when an uninsured driver is responsible for an auto accident. Without this coverage, you will have to pay for any expenses on your own.
While car insurance is mandatory in Texas, uninsured motorist coverage is not. Currently, 14.1% of all Texas drivers are without an auto policy, putting you and your family at risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Texas
Every car insurance policy in Texas comes with some standard coverage options. Among the most popular are collision insurance and comprehensive insurance.
These limits together are referred to as "full coverage" and help pay for any damage to your covered vehicles in the event of a loss. While your auto policy comes standard with minimum limits of liability, anything more will have to be discussed and added by you and your agent.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Texas
There are several car insurance discounts that you can discuss with your adviser. Just by having more than one policy with the same carrier, you could save 30% on average.
Likewise, an association discount could be applied if you're involved in a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. And you can simply cut costs by staying with the same insurance company for a period of time.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Texas
If you're involved in an auto accident, things can get overwhelming, causing confusion and even chaos. To keep things simple, take a peek at 4 easy steps for reporting a car insurance claim in Texas.
First, get to a safe spot and seek medical attention when necessary. Second, call your independent insurance agent to file the loss and obtain your claims number. Third, if a rental vehicle is needed, see if your policy allows that and get one scheduled. Last, connect with your assigned adjuster to assess expenses and see what payment can be collected.