Bodily Injury Requirements in Utah
Bodily injury liability insurance helps pay for an important part of a claim. When the other party sustains injuries and you're responsible, this coverage will foot the bill.
In Utah, bodily injury liability insurance is required at $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident. While only the minimum limits are mandatory, you may want additional protection.
Property Damage Requirements in Utah
Another coverage that goes hand in hand with bodily injury is property damage liability. This limit pays for your portion of a loss where you have caused damage to another party's property.
You're required to carry at least $15,000 in property damage liability in Utah. If you don't have proper protection, you could be fined.
Personal Injury Protection Coverage Requirements in Utah
Every state has its own twist when it comes to paying for your injuries. In Utah, you'll need to have personal injury protection, or PIP, under your auto policy.
PIP helps pay for your personal medical expenses when you're found at fault for an accident. Without this coverage, you'll have to pay out of pocket for a loss.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Utah
Uninsured motorist coverage will protect your finances from a major setback when you're in an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver. This coverage pays for any of your damage and medical bills.
Although car insurance is mandatory in Utah, uninsured motorist coverage is not. 8.2% of the Utah driving population uninsured, putting you at risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Utah
There are numerous coverages that you can obtain in addition to the mandatory limits set forth by Utah. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are two common options, and are known collectively as "full coverage".
These limits can help pay for damage to your insured vehicles when a collision occurs. Without them, you won't have any insurance for your vehicles.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Utah
In Utah, you may qualify for car insurance discounts. Simply by having more than one policy with your carrier, you could lower your rates by 30%.
Another great way to save is with an association discount if you belong to a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. Likewise, you can cut costs by being loyal to the same carrier for a period of time.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Utah
If you're involved in an auto accident, you may forget what comes next. To help, use these four easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Utah.
First, find a safe place and seek medical attention if necessary. Second, report the loss to your independent insurance agent and obtain a claims number. Third, utilize your rental car coverage if applicable. Last, contact your adjuster to assess the loss.