Think you're paying too much for car insurance? There are a lot of different things that make up your monthly premium, and insurance agents look at all kinds of factors.
In this guide, learn about how your rates were determined and whether there are ways you can lessen that monthly payment.
Use our independent agent matching system to find the best insurance plan in your area. You tell us what you’re looking for, and our technology will recommend the best agents for you. Any information you provide will be sent to only the agents you pick. We do not sell to third parties.
How much does Newport News car insurance cost?
Newport News auto insurance may seem expensive for some drivers, but no one should overpay.
Your insurance rates are based on your unique characteristics like where you live, what you drive and how far you commute each day.
If you think your rates are higher than average, you may be driving farther to work or school. Or you may live in a neighborhood with a higher-than-average auto theft rate.
No matter where you live, a Trusted Choice agent will assess your risks and help you find a policy that protects what matters most at a price you can afford.
After weighing out your options, the average cost of Newport car Insurance is $94 Per Month.
What does Newport News car insurance actually do for me?
The roads in Newport News can become congested and dangerous. Car insurance helps you pay if you are in an accident.
It also helps you if your car is stolen or is damaged in some other way.
If you are involved in a serious accident, you need sufficient coverage to help you recover financially. The minimum coverage required by your state may not be enough.
Here’s a look at how your Newport News auto insurance coverage will help you handle the consequences of a crash.
- Fix Your Car - We officially call this "Comprehensive & Collision Coverage." Nothing required.
- Fix Someone Else's Car - We officially call this "Property Damage Liability." Required min. $20,000.
- Pay Your Medical Bills - We officially call this "Personal Injury Protection" or "PIP." Nothing Required.
- Pay Someone Else's Medical Bills - We officially call this "Bodily Injury Liability." Required min. $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident.
Who pays if the accident wasn't my fault?
The driver who caused the accident, of course.
Without insurance coverage, uninsured drivers likely can’t pay if they are at fault for an accident.
10.1% of Virginia drivers are uninsured.
This is why you need “uninsured motorist coverage.” If an uninsured driver hits you, uninsured motorist coverage pays to fix your vehicle and helps with your medical bills.
Some states require all drivers to have a minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage, but Virginia does not require this coverage.
What Affects the Cost of Newport News Auto Insurance?
Newport News car insurance premiums are based on several factors such as the following:
- Your age
- Your gender
- Your ZIP code
- Your history of accidents and auto insurance claims
- The kind of car you drive
- The number of cars and drivers in your household
All of your personal characteristics are combined with what you drive and where you live to determine your car insurance rates. Insurance companies charge more for drivers whom they consider to be “riskier” or more likely to file a claim.
If, for example, you live in a city with a high crime rate and you have a long commute to work, expect to pay more for your car insurance. If you maintain a clean driving record, it can help to offset some of the costs.
Here are some city factors that will affect your rate:
Commute time: Simply put, the more time you spend on the road, the more likely it is that you'll be in an accident.
Newport News drivers tend to have average commute times compared to the U.S. national average.
- National Average: 25.4 minutes
- Newport News Average: 22.4 minutes
Theft in your city: The vehicle theft rate is slightly below average in Newport News, which may help to keep car insurance rates down for some people.
But without car insurance, could you afford to pay out-of-pocket for a stolen or vandalized vehicle? Car insurance is necessary to help reimburse you should you become a victim of auto theft.
No matter where you live, you can prevent auto theft with some common-sense deterrents.
- Never leave your car keys in your vehicle.
- Never leave valuables in your vehicle, especially where they can be seen.
- Never leave your vehicle running while it is unattended.
- Always park in safe, well-lit areas.
Consider installing a car alarm or a mechanical device that locks the steering wheel, steering column or brakes. Drivers of vehicles with anti-theft devices may be eligible for a discount on their Newport News auto insurance policy.
- Auto Theft Rate in U.S. (per 1,000 vehicles): 2.94
- Auto Theft Rate in Newport News (per 1,000 vehicles): 2.24
How to Find Affordable Auto Insurance in Newport News
Trusted Choice Independent Insurance Agents can get quotes from numerous insurance carriers, so you have a variety of options. Our agents will assess your risks and answer your questions so you can find the coverage that best fits your needs and budget.
Quality, affordable coverage for Newport News residents is just a few clicks away.