Rhode Island is the smallest state in the U.S. Personal Watercrafts (PWC’s) are popular in Rhode Island. Jet Ski and Personal Watercraft insurance will cover you in case of physical damage, on-water towing, personal valuables, rental reimbursement, and roadside assistance. You will be protected for both legal and medical expenses. Certificates of completion to boaters who have passed an approved course are issued by the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management. You are required by law to carry your certificate on board the vessel at all times.
Use our independent agent matching system to find the best insurance plan in your area. You tell us what you’re looking for, and our technology will recommend the best agents for you. Any information you provide will be sent to only the agents you pick. We do not sell to third parties.
Rhode Island Boating Facts
- Taking the Rhode Island boat safety course can help you save on your PWC insurance.
- A boat license may be required, depending on your age, the type of vessel being operated, and its horsepower.
- Anyone born on or after January 1, 1986 is required to pass an approved boater education course before he or she can legally operate a PWC powered with a motor of more than 10 horsepower.
- Regardless of your age, you must pass an approved boater education course to legally operate a PWC in Rhode Island.
Types of Personal Watercrafts in Rhode Island
All motorized boats, sailboats, and PWC’s must be registered in Rhode Island. Non-motorized canoes, non-motorized kayaks, and rowboats less than 12 feet in length do not need to be registered. Lifeboats, boats used solely for racing, and boats registered in another state that are not kept in Rhode Island for more than 90 days are exempt from being registered in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island PWC’s, also referred to as water scooters, are recreational watercraft vehicles that the rider sits on in the water. They have inboard engines that drive a pump jet with a screw-shaped impeller, creating thrust for propulsion and steering. Trademark names include Jet Ski, WaveRunner and Sea-Doo.
What are the Operating Hazards in Rhode Island?
There are many obvious operating hazards. Collisions and mechanical breakdowns are the top two. As a Rhode Island PWC operator, you may also be at risk for inury if you're thrown from your watercraft. Riders should be appropriately dressed in garments made out of a strong, thick substance, such as neoprene (common to wetsuits).
Additionally, there are more serious injury consequences if you collide with a larger watercraft or another PWC.
How much Does Rhode Island PWC Insurance Cost
Several factors determine your PWC insurance premium. These factors can include the make, model and horsepower of your watercraft, as well as options and deductibles you choose. You will have a choice in the amount of liability coverage you go with. PWC insurance premiums range from $300 to $500 per year.
Rhode Island PWC Coverage Options
PWC coverage options include medical payments, legal defense costs, uninsured/underinsured boaters, and PWC operating expenses. Many Rhode Island inhabitants and visitors want to cut loose and relax on the water with their PWC and in many cases, their watercraft vessel is considered to be one of their most prized possessions. Why not ensure that you have the best coverage possible?
Comparing Rhode Island PWC Insurance
In order to be protected, you’ll need to practice water safety in a solid watercraft and you will need to be fully insured. That way, you can have safe, happy, and memorable days on the water without the worry or headache of being uninsured. Even if you’ve been insured already, you should check your policy periodically to make sure you are enjoying the maximum amount of savings. A local independent agent from the Trusted Choice® network can put together Rhode Island PWC insurance quotes for you. Find a local agent today.