Bodily Injury Requirements in New Hampshire
Most states require a minimum bodily injury liability limit in order for drivers to use the roadways. Bodily injury liability pays for another party's medical expenses when you're at fault for an auto accident.
In New Hampshire, bodily injury liability is not a mandated requirement, however, that doesn't mean it's not necessary. You'll want to have sufficient limits of bodily injury liability to avoid paying out of pocket for a loss.
Property Damage Requirements in New Hampshire
Property damage liability is another limit that is absolutely crucial, but not required in New Hampshire. This limit will help pay for property damage to another driver when you're responsible for the collision.
With the high costs of vehicles these days, you could be in for a large expense if you're not prepared. Having the right property damage liability coverage can save you from financial ruin.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in New Hampshire
In certain states, personal injury protection, or PIP, is required and helps you pay for your own medical expenses when an at-fault loss occurs. In New Hampshire, this is another limit that is not mandated by state law, however, having a similar coverage could help.
Medical payments insurance can be added to your car policy for an extra premium. This limit will help pay for any injuries you sustain due to an auto accident that you caused.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in New Hampshire
Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your damage or injuries when you're involved in a collision with an uninsured driver. This is the one coverage that the state of New Hampshire does require in order for drivers to use the roadways.
New Hampshire mandates a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $20,000 in property damage for uninsured motorist coverage.
Optional Car Coverage in New Hampshire
Your New Hampshire policy will come with a lot of choices for optional coverage. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are commonly referred to as full coverage and are used to pay for damage to your vehicles.
Without these coverages you won't have protection for your cars. Instead, you'll have to pay out of pocket for a loss. There are several other options you'll have to cover your exposure as a driver in New Hampshire. Consult with a professional for different limits.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in New Hampshire
You can obtain discounts on car insurance by doing very little if you qualify for specific savings. One of the most common car insurance discounts is having multiple policies with the same carrier. Most insureds see a savings of 30% or more just by bundling your home and auto coverage with one insurance company.
When you belong to a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency in New Hampshire, you could cut costs by 10% with an association discount. And if you want to stay with your carrier for the long haul, you'll qualify for a loyalty discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in New Hampshire
It can be confusing when you need to report a car accident. To keep it simple, follow these four easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in New Hampshire.
First, ensure everyone is safe and tend to any medical injuries. Second, immediately report the loss to your independent insurance agent. Third, obtain a claims number from your agent and a replacement vehicle when necessary, and if your policy allows. Last, get with your adjuster to assess damage and collect payment.