Many residents of the Midwestern states know that the best way to experience the open road is on the back of a motorcycle. If you are one of the many motorcyclists in the state of Kansas, you may have questions about motorcycle insurance, including what the state requirements are, what is included in your coverage and where to find the best rates. To learn more about this coverage, review the information in this article; then, to find a policy at an affordable rate, compare quotes from at least three different motorcycle insurance providers in Kansas.
Use our independent agent matching system to find the best insurance plan in your area. You tell us what you’re looking for, and our technology will recommend the best agents for you. Any information you provide will be sent to only the agents you pick. We do not sell to third parties.
Kansas Motorcycle Facts and Statistics
- Riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet in this state.
- In 2010, there were 961 motorcycle accidents in this state.
- This represents 1.6 percent of all motor vehicle accidents that occurred in the state of KS.
- These are facts regarding the 961 accidents:
- 41 proved fatal, with 46 deaths
- 741 resulted in injuries, with 930 injuries
- 179 resulted in property damage only
What Are Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in Kansas?
The state requires registration and insurance for all motorcycles, choppers, mopeds, sports bikes and dirt bikes that can exceed 30 miles per hour.
Like every other U.S. state, Kansas enforces rules regarding minimum required liability insurance coverage for motorcyclists. This insurance protects you from the potentially devastating financial loss you might face if you cause damage or injuries to a third party while operating your motorcycle. These are the minimum liability coverage requirements in Kansas:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident involving two more injured parties
- $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident
Although the state of Kansas requires those carrying automobile insurance to include personal injury protection with their coverage, motorcyclists are exempt from this requirement. If you choose to forego PIP coverage, however, the state requires you to submit this decision in writing.
If you are caught operating your motorcycle without the proper insurance coverage, you can face fines up to $1,000 for the first offense. Failure to pay this fine can result in a 6-month jail sentence. If you are caught riding without insurance a second time within three years of your first offense, you can face a fine of up to $2,500 and can have your license suspended and your registration revoked.
What Does Motorcycle Insurance Cover?
All motorcycle policies offered in Kansas will include liability coverage that meets, at a minimum, the state’s coverage requirements. In addition to this mandatory liability coverage, motorcycle insurance offers these additional coverage options:
- Collision coverage: This will compensate you for the costs necessary to repair your motorcycle if it sustains damage in an accident for which you are at fault.
- Personal injury protection coverage: This will compensate you for any necessary medical treatment needed by you or your passenger as the result of an accident for which you are at fault. If you choose not to purchase this coverage, you will need to specifically state as much in writing.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: If you suffer injuries or damage in a collision with a motorist who is at fault and lacks sufficient insurance coverage or with a hit-and-run driver regardless of fault, this will provide you with the necessary compensation you might not otherwise receive.
- Comprehensive coverage: This covers damage to your bike resulting from anything other than a collision. This can include loss or damage caused by falling objects, severe weather events, fire, vandalism and theft.
- Roadside assistance: This policy option will provide you with coverage for towing or assistance if your motorcycle becomes inoperable while you are out on the road.
How Much Does Motorcycle Insurance Cost in Kansas?
Rates for motorcycle insurance can vary a bit from one person to the next, and you can expect your policy to cost you between $50 and $100 a month. In Kansas, where helmets are not required, rates are slightly higher than the national average.
Some factors that can influence your motorcycle insurance rate quotes include the following:
- The make, model, year and value your motorcycle
- Where and how you store your bike when not in use
- Your age, gender and driving record
- Number of years of motorcycle riding experience you have
- The approximate number of miles you ride per year
- The policy options you select and the amount of coverage you purchase
- The amount of your deductible
You may qualify for insurance discounts if you have multiple policies with the same insurer or you have successfully completed a motorcycle safety course.
It Is Easy To Compare Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Kansas
An independent insurance agent in the Trusted Choice® network can help you compare motorcycle insurance from several insurance companies. These professionals can work with you to help you determine your coverage needs as well as to answer any insurance-related questions you may have.
Contact one of the many agents in Kansas to get more information. You can start comparing motorcycle insurance quotes in no time.