Bodily Injury Requirements in Kansas
As in most states, bodily injury liability is mandated coverage in Kansas. Limits need to be at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. The minimum limits are a starting point, and other options can be reviewed with a trained professional.
Bodily injury coverage helps pay for another driver's medical expenses when you're at fault for an auto accident. Without this coverage, you would be responsible for paying these on your own.
Property Damage Requirements in Kansas
Property damage liability on your auto policy pays for damage to another party's vehicle due to an at-fault accident. This coverage protects your finances from ruin when you cause an accident and don't have the funds to foot the bill.
You'll be required to carry the minimum limits of protection according to state law. In Kansas, that means you'll need at least $25,000 in property damage liability.
Personal Injury Protection Coverage Requirements in Kansas
Personal injury protection, or PIP, helps pay for your medical expenses when you become injured due to an at-fault accident. Contrary to popular belief, you won't have coverage for medical bills without PIP.
Kansas requires each driver to carry personal injury protection under their auto insurance. This ensures that medical expenses won't have to come out of pocket for injuries resulting from car accident.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Kansas
Uninsured motorist coverage will help pay for your vehicle damage or injury due to an accident with an uninsured driver. In Kansas, you're required by state law to carry uninsured motorist insurance in order to use the roadways.
Unfortunately, there are drivers that don't have proper coverage in every state. Kansas currently has 7.2% of their driving population without insurance, putting you at risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Kansas
There are several optional coverages you can add to your auto policy. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are both limits that are necessary if you want protection against damage to your vehicle.
You can add a few other coverages to make your car insurance more robust. This can included gap coverage for newer vehicles to help pay off a loan when a total loss occurs. And you can also get roadside assistance for those days when you are stranded and need a tow.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Kansas
When you're shopping for car insurance companies, be sure to ask your agent which discounts apply. Carriers like to give discounts on insurance when you have more than one policy with them. A multiple policy discount can cut costs by 30% or more.
Another way to save is if you're part of a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, and qualify for the association discount. And if you've been with the same insurance company for a number of years, then you'll usually get a loyalty discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Kansas
If you're in the middle of an auto accident, it can be challenging to remember what to do in the moment. Check out these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Kansas.
First, make sure everyone is safe and injuries are tended to. Second, give your independent insurance agent a call to report the accident. Third, get your claim number and if necessary, a rental vehicle. Finally, schedule a call or meeting with your adjuster to assess damage and get the loss paid.