Maine residents who ride a motorcycle registered in the state must prove they have insurance to cover the cost of damages, either property or injury, in the case of an accident. To show proof that you are financially responsible, you must carry liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and medical payments coverage, per Maine law. Before you search for quotes for motorcycle insurance in Maine, be sure you know what type of coverage fits your needs, motorcycle and lifestyle.
Use our independent agent matching system to find the best insurance plan in your area. You tell us what you’re looking for, and our technology will recommend the best agents for you. Any information you provide will be sent to only the agents you pick. We do not sell to third parties.
Establish Financial Responsibility
Although other states offer a few options to establish financial responsibility, Maine only requires its resident riders to purchase motorcycle insurance. If your specific situation does not afford you the ability to purchase a policy, look into the state’s assigned risk initiative.
Read below for the state’s minimum motorcycle insurance requirements; they are no different from what is required for automobiles.
The Maine Automobile Insurance Plan can assist you if you cannot obtain coverage through normal means. The state requires all insurance companies who sell insurance policies in Maine to contribute to this shared market.
The state does not require vehicle registration or insurance for all vehicles, so if you are unsure whether your vehicle requires registration or insurance coverage, contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) at 207-624-9000, ext. 52149.
Here’s how ME defines two-wheel vehicles:
- Motorcycle: This is a motor vehicle with a seat or a saddle to accommodate a rider. It has either an electric motor of not less than 1,500 watts or an engine with more than 50 cubic centimeters (cc). These bikes have two- or three-inch (or larger) diameter wheels. This stipulation could apply to your dirt bikes, choppers and sport bikes.
- Moped: This is a motorized device with operative pedals for human-powered propulsion. Mopeds use using only two- or three-inch (or larger) diameter wheels and have either an electric motor of less than 1,500 watts or a liquid-fuel motor not exceeding 50 cc.
- Scooter: These vehicles do not include electric personal assistive mobility devices. Instead, they are motor-powered scooters having a maximum piston displacement of less than 25 cc or an electric motor with a capacity not exceeding 750 watts. They travel on the ground using two or three wheels fewer than 10 inches in diameter.
Maine Insurance Requirements for Motorcycles
As stated above you must purchase liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and medical payments coverage from an auto insurance provider.
The motorcycle minimums to satisfy the financial responsibility law are 50/100/25:
- $50,000 for the injury/death to any one person
- $100,000 for one accident resulting in injury/death of more than one person
- $25,000 for property damage
Before you settle on a particular insurance quote, do some research on the types of coverage available. You might consider purchasing more coverage than the state’s minimum requirements, depending on the value of the assets you wish to protect.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
You must notify the state when you obtain coverage; Maine does not have any direct-reporting system in place to notify the BMV. You can use any of the following as acceptable forms of evidence to prove that you are insured:
- Your insurance card
- A declaration page or a letter from your insurance agent or insurance company
- An insurance binder
- A summary document of your insurance policy
Whatever acceptable form of evidence you use, be certain it displays the following:
- The amount of motorcycle insurance (state minimum liability requirements)
- The type of motorcycle insurance coverage
- The effective and expiration dates
- The policy number
- Your name
- Your motorcycle’s make, model, year, license plate numbers and VIN
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
When you register your bike, you must show proof of insurance. However, if, after you register, you allow your motorcycle coverage to lapse, you could face penalties such as a fine; a charge of uninsured operation; or registration and license suspension.
If a Maine police officer pulls you over and cites you for no proof of insurance, you must immediately purchase a policy with sufficient coverage. After doing so, you must file proof of financial responsibility via an SR-22 insurance certificate; otherwise, the state could suspend your registration and maybe even your license.
Avoid Penalties and Expensive Liabilities
Finding the right motorcycle insurance so you can cruise one of Maine's beautiful highways and back roads is just a click away. Whether you enjoy riding street bikes, standard hogs, choppers, etc. insuring yourself is a must. Get insurance quotes from a Trusted Choice® independent insurance agent and start riding with ease.