Bodily Injury Requirements in Maine
In Maine, bodily injury liability insurance is a requirement. You'll be responsible for limits of at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
While the minimum is all that is legally mandated, you may want more coverage. Major losses will need robust insurance to avoid paying out of pocket.
Property Damage Requirements in Maine
Property damage liability is a required coverage under your Maine auto policy. It helps pay for damage to another driver's vehicle or property when you're at fault.
The minimum property damage liability needed to use the roadways is $25,000. If you're found without this coverage you could face serious penalties and be on the hook for any damage.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Maine
In Maine, you are required to purchase personal injury protection on your auto policy. This limit helps pay for your medical expenses when injured due to an at-fault auto accident.
If you're found without personal injury protection you could be at huge financial risk. Contrary to popular belief, you won't have coverage for medical bills without this insurance.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Maine
Uninsured motorist coverage is a requirement under your Maine auto policy when selecting insurance. This protection pays for your damage or medical bills due to an accident with an uninsured driver.
With 4.5% of the drivers in Maine without car insurance, you'll want some coverage. Uninsured motorist insurance will help when you're most at risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Maine
Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are considered full coverage and pay for damage to your vehicles when in a wreck. These optional coverages are not mandated, but they are necessary if you want to have protection for your cars, among other things.
Some optional coverages that you may want to consider are roadside assistance for when you need a tow and gap coverage for when you need to pay the loan on a totaled newer vehicle. Another common limit is rental car coverage that pays for a replacement auto when yours is out of commission due to a covered loss.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Maine
Find discounts on insurance with your local adviser to get the best rates in town. There are several options to choose from when you're trying to cut costs.
In Maine, you can qualify for a multiple policy discount when you have more than one line of business with the same carrier. Other ways to save are by being part of an association, and being loyal to the same carrier, for a discount of 5% to 10%.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Maine
Reporting a car accident can be overwhelming when you're in the midst of a loss. Check out these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Maine.
First, get to a safe place and tend to any injuries. Second, call your independent insurance agent to file the claim. Third, obtain your claim number and get a rental vehicle if necessary. Last, schedule a meeting with your adjuster to assess the loss and collect payment.