Utah Boat Insurance

Obey the Laws: Boat Insurance in Utah

Utah has tons of opportunities for boaters to enjoy. From Hyrum State Park to Otter Creek, boaters, fishermen, and water sport enthusiasts enjoy a variety of opportunities for fun on the water.

Utah has, however, taken a strict stance when it comes to usage of the state's waters. When it comes to using your boat in Utah, be sure to check the state's website to be familiar with which types of boats are allowed on the body of water you're planning to visit.

Additionally, if you own a boat, you're more than likely required by law to carry insurance to protect you and other boaters from the financial impacts of an accident.

Boat Insurance Requirements in UT

The state of Utah requires that all boaters who own a PWC or a vessel with more than 50 horsepower must carry insurance on their watercraft. Air boats and boats with less than 50 horsepower are exempt. The requirements are as follows:

  • $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury/death, $15,000 property damage, or $65,000 combined minimum per accident.

You must prove you're insured by carrying one of the following:

  • an insurance policy
  • a binder notice
  • a renewal notice
  • or a card issued by the insurance company

Out-of-state boats must comply with their own state laws, or comply with Utah's state laws within 90 days.

What is Boat Insurance in Utah?

Boat insurance is a set of policies put in place to protect you from the most common risks you face as a boater. A typical boating insurance policy can resemble the following:

  • Liability insurance: If you are deemed at fault for an accident, this insurance is designed to pay for the damages you cause, as well as help you cover legal expenses stemming from a boating accident.
  • Collision coverage: If you are in a collision, this insurance can cover your damages, regardless of fault.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Known more commonly as "Other than collision," this insurance can cover events like a run-in with a dock, rock, or other damage stemming from incidents which are non-collision related.
  • Medical payments coverage: If you or your passengers require medical attention, this insurance can help cover these costs.
  • Towing and wreckage removal: If your boat is wrecked or becomes disabled on the water, it is your responsibility to remove it. This coverage can help pay for those costs.
  • Pollution clean-up: It is your responsibility to remove any pollution you spill. If you are involved in a large fuel spill, this insurance can help cover the costs to remove it.

Much like a fire extinguisher or life jacket, boat insurance is required to cover you and your boat in case of a disaster.

Utah Boating Statistics

  • There were 99 boating accidents in Utah during 2012.
  • In 2012, boating accidents caused over $270,000 in property damage.
  • You must pass a boater education course if you are 12 to 17 years of age and want to operate a PWC. If you are 12-17 years old, you must have adult supervision, along with a boater safety card, to operate a boat. Boaters 16 years old and older can operate a boat without restrictions.

Boat insurance can help protect you in many situations. For instance, if you're boating, and getting ready to head home, and then damage your boat while pulling it up onto a trailer, your comprehensive insurance can help pay for the damage. If you're on the water and your batteries go dead, your towing insurance can kick in to help you get the assistance you need. If you're involved in a boating accident and your passengers need medical care, the costs can be extreme. With medical payments coverage, you'll have peace of mind that the medical costs can be covered.

What Types of Boats are Covered by Boat Insurance?

Insurance companies know that there are many different types of boats, and each one needs a policy tailor-suited to fit the owner's needs. Below is a list of boat types that are most commonly covered by boat insurance:

  • Canoe
  • Kayak
  • Jon boat
  • Fishing boat
  • PWC
  • Cabin cruiser
  • Houseboat
  • Sport boat
  • Yacht
  • Wakeboarding boat

This list is not exhaustive, but gives a general guideline for what boats are most typically covered. If you have a boat outside of the ones listed above, you can still get insurance. An insurance agent will be able to go over the insurance types recommended for your vessel.

How Much Will a Boat Insurance Quote Be in Utah?

Boat insurance prices can vary greatly, anywhere from a few hundred dollars per year to over $1,000. The amount you pay depends on the risks you face, along with some of the following factors:

  • Your age/gender
  • Type of boat
  • Make/model of boat
  • Age of boat
  • How often boat is used
  • If boat will be on a trailer or stored at a marina
  • If passengers are on board
  • Motor specifics (horsepower, top speed)
  • Your driving record on/off the water
  • Safety measures/boater education courses you've taken

Each of these factors will go into calculating a quote in order to make sure you are sufficiently covered.

Are There Discounts on Boating Insurance in Utah?

There are discounts for almost every type of insurance policy, boat insurance included. The discounts may include the following:

  • Multi-policy discount
  • Multi-unit discount (if you own more than one boat)
  • Lay-up discount (if you store the boat during the winter)
  • Claims-free discount
  • Safety certification discount

Each insurance company has individual discounts available, so be sure to ask about any discounts you may qualify for that you're not aware of.

How Can I Find Adequate Boat Insurance in Utah?

When purchasing boat insurance, it's important to make sure you have enough coverage for whatever a day on the water can throw your way. A Trusted Choice® agent is always available to help you discuss coverage options, suggest policies, find discounts, and even help you file a claim.

Now, who's ready to get their insurance problems solved?