FAQ: Workers' Compensation Insurance in Louisiana

Workers' compensation insurance will help protect your Louisiana business when a claim arises. If an employee sustains an injury or illness due to their working conditions, your company will be on the hook. However, a workers' compensation policy helps cover your loss by paying for the medical expenses and lost wages of an injured or ill employee. 

The cost of your Louisiana workers' compensation insurance will depend on various risk factors. Rates are predetermined with a range per job duty, and your costs fall somewhere within that range. Check out current Louisiana workers' compensation rates per industry below, per $100 of employer payroll:

IndustryLow CostHigh Cost
Carpet Cleaning$2.94$7.20
Dry Cleaning & Laundry Service$1.64$4.02
Machine Shop$1.97$4.83
Garage Door Installation$2.63$6.44
Salvage Yard-Automobile Recycling$6.82$16.71

Yes. In Louisiana, all business owners who employ any number of employees must carry the state minimum limits of workers' compensation coverage or greater. 

In Louisiana, your business's workers' compensation policy will cover a variety of incidents. Some common losses that are covered under your policy are as follows:

  • Traumatic injuries
  • Repetitive injuries
  • Some mental or cognitive injuries
  • Occupational illnesses/diseases

As with any business policy, there are exclusions that apply. In Louisiana, the following incidents will not be covered under your workers' compensation policy:

  • Intentional injuries or illnesses
  • Injuries or illnesses sustained outside of work
  • Injuries or illnesses sustained while committing a crime
  • Injuries or illnesses sustained under the influence of drugs or alcohol

A certificate of insurance provides evidence of workers' compensation coverage and other business policies. It shows policy limits and expiration dates for each. You can obtain a certificate from your local independent insurance agent for free. 

When searching for a workers' compensation policy, consider working with an independent insurance agent. They do the shopping for free on your behalf, and since they work with top-rated carriers, you'll get the best options on policy and price. 

No. Workers' compensation benefits paid to your employee in Louisiana are not counted as taxable income. Check with your tax professional for more specifics in your area. 

Find Workers' Compensation Insurance Near You

National Average Cost of Workers' Compensation Insurance

Healthcare $1,825 Per $100,000 payroll

Retail Trade $2,850 Per $100,000 payroll

Construction $7,430 Per $100,000 payroll

Workers' Compensation Insurance Laws in Louisiana

Every state has its own set of rules and regulations for commercial insurance. In Louisiana, every employer must carry workers' compensation insurance when they have one employee or more. Coverage needs to be at the state minimum limits or greater to comply. You'll be on the hook for penalties and possible criminal penalties if you're found without protection.


Common Workers' Compensation Claims in Louisiana


The Top 5 industries with the most fatal occupational injuries:

  1. Construction
  2. Transportation and warehousing
  3. Manufacturing
  4. Crop farming
  5. Landscaping


The Top 6 most reported fatal occupational injuries:

  1. Violence and other injuries by persons or animals
  2. Transportation incidents
  3. Fires
  4. Falls, slips, trips
  5. Exposure to harmful substances or environments
  6. Contact with objects and equipment


Unfortunately, 103 Louisiana workers' compensation claims turn fatal in one recent year. If you have workers' compensation insurance, you'll have coverage for funeral expenses under the death benefit.