Bodily Injury Requirements in Louisiana
In Louisiana, you'll be required to carry the minimum bodily injury liability limits set forth by local law. While coverage is mandatory at the lower limits of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, you may want more protection.
There are numerous options when it comes to selecting your coverage amounts. Bodily injury liability will help pay for the medical expenses of another driver when you're at fault, which can get pricey depending on the injury.
Property Damage Requirements in Louisiana
Property damage liability in Louisiana is another mandatory limit of protection. This coverage helps pay for any damage that the other party may sustain when you're at fault.
In Louisiana, you'll be required to carry at least $25,000 in property damage liability to meet state guidelines. If you're found without proper protection, you could be on the hook for serious penalties.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Louisiana
There are some states that require personal injury protection under your auto policy. Louisiana does not include this coverage under their minimum requirements.
However, you can obtain a limit that does a similar thing and pays for your expenses when injured, called medical payments coverage. A variety of limit options can be purchased for an additional premium.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Louisiana
Uninsured motorist coverage in Louisiana is key to having complete protection for a loss. It helps pay for your injuries or vehicle damage when you're involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Some states require uninsured motorist coverage as part of their minimum limits, but Louisiana does not. When 13% of all Louisiana drivers are operating without auto insurance, it makes sense to be protected.
Optional Car Coverage in Louisiana
If you add collision insurance and comprehensive insurance to your Louisiana auto policy, you'll have full coverage for a loss and protection for damage to your vehicle. Optional coverages are necessary if you want to provide insurance for your belongings and injuries in the event of an accident.
Your car insurance won't come automatically with things like roadside assistance that provides coverage for a tow. Likewise, you'll have to add rental car coverage when you need a replacement vehicle due to a covered loss. Discuss which options make sense with a trained professional.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Louisiana
If you're searching for discounts on car insurance, there are numerous options that could apply. A reduction of 30% or more for having more than one policy with the same carrier is a common discount.
Others that you could qualify for are association discounts when you're part of a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. Another way to cut costs is by having a clean driving record and claims history to obtain the claims-free discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Louisiana
When you need to report a car accident, it can be difficult to remember what to do. To keep it simple, take a peek at these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Louisiana.
First, it's important that you seek any necessary medical attention and get to a safe place. Second, you'll want to call your independent agent to actually file the claim. Third, get the claims number from your agent and a rental vehicle if coverage allows. Last, schedule a time to meet with your adjuster and collect payment.