Bodily Injury Requirements in New Jersey
There are several coverages that you can obtain under your auto policy. Bodily injury liability coverage is necessary and helps pay for the medical expenses of another driver when you're at fault for a collision.
In New Jersey, bodily injury liability is required and needs to be at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. Many insureds opt for higher limits of protection due to the rising costs of auto claims.
Property Damage Requirements in New Jersey
You are required to carry property damage liability in New Jersey when using the roadways. This coverage helps pay for damage to another party due to your negligence or causing a car accident.
The minimum amount you're responsible for having is $5,000 in property damage liability in New Jersey. If you're found without proper protection, you could face serious fines or worse.
Personal Injury Protection Coverage Requirements in New Jersey
Each state has its own requirements, and some of those mandates include personal injury protection, or PIP, under your auto policy. PIP helps pay for your medical expenses due to a car accident you're responsible for causing.
In New Jersey, you are required to carry PIP on your car insurance policy to comply with local law. Without this coverage, you could be responsible for medical bills out of pocket.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in New Jersey
Uninsured motorist coverage will protect you from paying for hospital bills and property damage when you're involved in an auto accident with an at-fault, uninsured driver. Fortunately, in New Jersey you are required to carry this limit under your auto insurance.
Even though coverage is mandatory in New Jersey, not all drivers abide by this law. Currently, 14.9% of New Jersey drivers are uninsured.
Optional Car Coverage in New Jersey
Every auto policy will have optional coverages that you can add for an additional premium. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are commonly chosen limits and help pay for damage to your vehicles.
There are many other limits of protection you can obtain, and that help cover you and your property. Without these additional coverages you will only have insurance for the other party when you're at fault, requiring you to pay for everything else.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in New Jersey
In New Jersey, there are several discounts on car insurance that you could qualify for. One of the most used is the multiple policy discount when you have more than one policy with a single carrier.
An association discount also may be applied when you belong to a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. Another way to cut costs is by staying with the same company for a period of time which will give you a loyalty discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in New Jersey
When you're involved in a car accident, reporting everything that has occurred can be a nightmare. To help, follow these four easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in New Jersey.
First, get to a safe place and tend to any injuries immediately. Second, call your independent insurance agent and report the claim as soon as you can. Third, obtain the claims number as well as a rental vehicle if your policy allows and it's necessary. Last, contact your adjuster about the damage and injuries so you can start collecting payment for the loss.