If you are caught driving without insurance in Wisconsin, you can face of fine of $500 and have your driving privileges suspended until you submit proof of insurance by filing an SR-22. Also, you will need to pay a $60 fee to reinstate your driver’s license.
If you are in an accident while uninsured, you can face the same fine as above but your driving privileges and vehicle registration can be suspended for up to three years. In addition to the $60 license reinstatement fee, you will also have to pay a $50 fee to reinstate your vehicle registration.
Despite these penalties, an estimated 14.3% of vehicle owners in Wisconsin are driving while uninsured.
If you are in an accident that was caused by an uninsured driver, that person is responsible for covering your damage and any related medical bills. However, if the uninsured driver simply doesn’t have the funds available, you may be forced to hire a lawyer and take legal action just to collect a fraction of what is due to you.
That is why uninsured motorist coverage can prove so beneficial. This mandatory coverage can pay for your vehicle repairs and medical expenses if you are in an accident and the at-fault driver is uninsured or underinsured, though you are only required to purchase bodily-injury coverage.
Once your insurance company reimburses you for your losses, it will take on the time-consuming responsibility of trying to collect the money owed by the at-fault driver and will absorb the costs if unsuccessful.