Bodily Injury Requirements in Vermont
Bodily injury liability is an essential coverage under your auto policy and helps pay for medical expenses of another when you're at fault. Without this protection, you could be responsible for some major medical bills.
In Vermont, bodily injury liability limits need to be at minimum $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident according to state law. Most insureds opt for higher coverage amounts to better protect themselves.
Property Damage Requirements in Vermont
In Vermont, property damage liability is a requirement when driving. This limit pays for property damage of another party when you're at fault for a loss.
You're responsible for carrying at least $10,000 in property damage liability in Vermont. If you're found without the right limits, you could face serious penalties.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Vermont
Some states mandate personal injury protection, or PIP, under your car insurance policy which helps pay for your medical expenses. In Vermont, PIP is not mandatory under your auto coverage.
Medical payments insurance is optional and can be added to your auto policy for an additional fee. It helps pay for your injuries due to an at-fault accident.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Vermont
Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your exposure when you're involved in an accident with a driver that does not have insurance. In Vermont, 6.8% of the drivers on the road are currently without car insurance.
Even though auto coverage is necessary to drive in Vermont, including uninsured motorist protection, not everyone follows these laws. To be properly covered, it's important to obtain the right coverage for an accident.
Optional Car Coverage in Vermont
Every auto policy will come with automatic protection and options to add extra coverage. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are known as full coverage and optional limits that help pay for any damage to your own vehicles in the event of a loss.
There are numerous other options that you can select like rental car coverage that provides a replacement vehicle due to a claim. Another limit that is used is roadside assistance that can pay for a tow or tire change.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Vermont
To qualify for discounts on car insurance, it's important to know what's available. There are several discounts on your auto coverage that could apply. You could get a 5% to 10% reduction in insurance costs just by being a loyal customer for a long period of time.
In Vermont, if you have more than one policy, you can save 30% or more with a multiple policy discount. Another 10% could be cut from your premiums if you belong to a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency through an association discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Vermont
When a car accident occurs, you could be caught off guard and unsure what to do next. Take a look at the four steps of how to file a car insurance claim in Vermont the easy way.
First, get to a safe spot and ensure that everyone is safe and sound. Second, give your agent a call to report the loss and obtain a claim number. Third, if you have rental car coverage and need a replacement vehicle, set that up with your carrier. Last, work with your adjuster to assess the damage and collect payment.