Bodily Injury Requirements in Wyoming
When you cause a collision with another driver, you may be responsible for a hefty hospital bill. Fortunately, bodily injury liability insurance pays for the other party's medical expenses so you don't have to.
This coverage is required in most states and is necessary in order to have proper protection. In Wyoming, you must have at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability.
Property Damage Requirements in Wyoming
Another mandatory coverage in most states is property damage liability. This crucial limit helps pay for the other driver's property damage that you caused due to an at-fault claim.
In Wyoming, the minimum limit of property damage liability you must obtain is $20,000. If found without proper coverage you could have to pay an expensive bill and be met with some serious fines.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Wyoming
Every state will have some form of personal injury protection, or PIP, that you can purchase for better protection. PIP helps pay for your medical expenses due to a car accident you've caused.
In Wyoming, you will not be required to carry PIP, but medical payments coverage does a similar thing and is optional. This important limit can help you avoid any out-of-pocket hospital bills that may arise.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Wyoming
If you're involved in an accident with a driver that does not have car insurance, uninsured motorist coverage can help. This limit pays for your damage and medical expenses when an uninsured party is to blame.
Although car insurance is mandatory in Wyoming, uninsured motorist coverage is not. With roughly 7.8% of all Wyoming drivers without protection, you'll want to consider this limit.
Optional Car Coverage in Wyoming
Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are commonly chosen coverages for added protection under your auto policy. These limits help pay for any damage to your covered vehicles in the event of a loss.
In Wyoming, you'll have several optional limits to choose from when deciding on coverages. Currently, car insurance comes with only the mandatory minimum liability protection and anything additional will need to be purchased for an extra premium.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Wyoming
You'll typically have several car insurance discounts that you may be eligible for receiving under your auto policy. One of the easiest and most used ways to save is by having more than one policy with a carrier.
This multiple policy discount can lower premiums by 30% or more across the board. Another simple way to cut costs is by being loyal to the same insurance company for more than a year. This can reduce your premiums by 10% on average.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Wyoming
When you've had a car accident, it can be challenging to remember what to do next. Fortunately, you can follow these four simple steps to filing a car insurance claim in Wyoming.
First, get to a safe place and seek medical attention for any injuries. Second, report the loss to your independent insurance agent and collect your claims number. Third, ensure that a police report is filed and pictures are taken for later proof. Last, connect with your adjuster to go over the expenses and payments due.