Bodily Injury Requirements in Idaho
Bodily injury liability will help pay for the medical expenses of an injured party when you're at fault for the loss. In Idaho, coverage is mandated in order to protect you and your finances from an auto accident.
Your Idaho bodily injury limits need to be a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Even though you're only required to carry the state minimums, you may want more protection to avoid paying out of pocket for a loss.
Property Damage Requirements in Idaho
Property damage liability will pay for damage to another party's vehicle when you're at fault for a claim. In Idaho, property damage liability is required at the minimum limit of $15,000.
Although the state limit is all that is mandated by law, you'll probably want more protection. The cost of a vehicle nowadays could deplete that $15,000 pretty quickly.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Idaho
Some states require personal injury protection as a part of the minimum coverage amounts. However, Idaho is not one of them and instead lets you opt-in for medical payments insurance.
Medical payments coverage will help pay for your medical expenses due to an at-fault accident. Without this protection, you'll be on your own for any medical bills that come your way.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Idaho
Uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your injuries or any damage sustained when you're in an accident with an uninsured driver. While this coverage isn't one of the required limits under your Idaho auto policy, it's still super-necessary for proper protection.
Idaho currently has 8.2% of its driving force uninsured, which means you're at risk. Just because you're required to carry car insurance doesn't mean everyone follows the rules.
Optional Car Coverage in Idaho
Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are meant to pay for damage to your vehicle when involved in an accident with another party, property, or animal. These optional limits are known as full coverage and cost an additional premium.
Roadside assistance is another great addition to your auto policy and helps if you become stranded on the road. And if your car is being repaired or replaced due to a covered claim, rental car insurance pays for a replacement vehicle in the meantime.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Idaho
If you're trying to save some premium dollars, than asking your agent what discounts are available could help. Carriers like to provide discounts on insurance when you have more than one policy with them. Typically, a reduction of 30% or more for multiple policies is common.
If you're part of a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, insurance companies usually allow a 5% to 10% discount on insurance. The same is true when you've been with the same carrier for a number of years and qualify for a loyalty discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Idaho
Filing an auto loss doesn't have to be confusing if you have the right coverage and adviser. Check out these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Idaho.
First, it's essential that you get to a safe place and tend to any injuries immediately. Second, you'll want to call your independent agent and file the claim. Third, obtain a replacement vehicle if necessary and your claims number. Last, schedule a meeting with your assigned adjuster to go over the damage and collect payment.