Nevada Car Insurance FAQ - Quick Answers

The average annual cost for Nevada car insurance is $1,248, coming very close to the national average of $1,311 per year. If you're trying to find the lowest prices on the best coverage, consider working with a local adviser for cost-saving strategies. 

Every car insurance policy in Nevada will be different. However, there are several commonly obtained limits listed below.

  • Bodily injury liability: Pays for medical expenses of others.
  • Property damage liability: Pays for property damage of others.
  • Medical payments: Pays for your medical expenses.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Pays for an accident involving an uninsured/underinsured motorist.
  • Comprehensive: Pays for a collision with an unavoidable object such as an animal.
  • Collision: Pays for a collision with another vehicle, animal, or property.

Nevada is what is known as an “at-fault,” or “tort,” state. This means the driver responsible for causing the car accident is responsible for the expense. You are required to carry the state minimum limits of insurance at $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $20,000 in property damage liability. 

In Nevada, 10.6% of drivers are currently without insurance. If you're not prepared with uninsured motorist coverage, then you won't have protection for your injuries or damage when involved in a car accident with an at-fault, uninsured driver.

When you're shopping for the best car insurance in your area, there are many options. In Nevada, Stillwater, Nationwide, Progressive, and Safeco insurance companies are used often. These carriers come highly recommended due to their claims service and coverage selections. 

Carriers use numerous risk factors when calculating your car insurance costs. Here are what insurance companies in Nevada look for when rating your coverage.

  • Age of drivers
  • Number of drivers
  • Motor vehicle reports
  • Types and costs of vehicles
  • Coverages selected
  • Number of years with prior carrier
  • Number of past claims reported

In Nevada, you must provide proof of insurance for driving the roadways, and also to register your vehicles. The coverage must be at the state minimum limits required by law.

Do You Know What Your Nevada Car Insurance Covers?

Find the Best Car Insurance in Your City

How does your city measure up to the national average?

National average time spent commuting 26.9 Min

National average car thefts per 1,000 2.3 Year

National average car insurance cost $1,311 Year

CityCommute time (min)Auto thefts / 1,000Annual insurance cost
Henderson23.51.743.37
Las Vegas26.14.387.28
North Las Vegas27.74.455.37
Reno20.34.634.25
Sparks23.13.545.57

Bodily Injury Requirements in Nevada

In each state you'll be required to carry the minimum limits of bodily injury liability under your auto insurance policy. This coverage will provide insurance for another driver's medical expenses when you're at fault. 

In Nevada, you'll need at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability. Many insureds opt for higher limits of coverage to ensure they are fully protected.


Property Damage Requirements in Nevada

Property damage liability will help pay for damage you have caused due to an at-fault auto accident. In Nevada, each driver is required to carry $20,000 in property damage liability or more. 

If a collision occurs and you're responsible for the loss, you'll have to pay out of pocket if you're not insured properly. In most cases, $20,000 won't get you very far with the high price of vehicles on the road today.


Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Nevada

There are some states that require personal injury protection, or PIP, which can help pay for your medical expenses when you're in an auto accident. However, Nevada does not mandate PIP in order to drive. 

There is another coverage called medical payments that will do a similar thing and pay for your injuries due to an at-fault loss. This can be included under your car insurance for an additional premium.


Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Nevada

Uninsured motorist coverage is another limit that some states make mandatory under your auto policy. This coverage helps pay for your expenses when an uninsured driver causes an accident. 

While you're supposed to have minimum limits of car insurance, not every one follows the rules. In fact, 10.6% of Nevada drivers currently are without coverage. You can obtain uninsured motorist protection for an extra fee to have sufficient policy limits.


car

Save on Car Insurance

Our independent agents shop around to find you the best coverage.


Optional Car Coverage in Nevada

When it comes to Nevada car insurance, you'll have options on extra coverages for added protection. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are commonly obtained limits, and help pay for damage to your vehicle when a collision takes place.

Other coverages, like rental car insurance, pays for a replacement vehicle when your auto is in the shop due to a covered claim. Another handy limit to have is roadside assistance that helps with a tow or tire change when you need it most.


Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Nevada

When it comes to discounts on car insurance, your agent can help you decipher which you qualify for with your carrier. Most insurance companies will have a significant multiple policy discount when you put all your coverage with one company. 

In Nevada, you may be able to obtain an association discount when you belong to a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. For being a loyal customer, you can often qualify for a 10% discount on coverage, as well. 


How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Nevada

Filing a car accident can be a real hassle if you're not prepared and unsure of what to do. Take a look at these four easy steps for reporting a car insurance claim in Nevada.

First, ensure everyone is safe and all injuries are tended to by a medical professional. Second, call your independent insurance agent and report the accident and obtain your claim number. Third, get a replacement vehicle if coverage allows and it's necessary. Last, set a meeting with your adjuster to go over damage and injuries so you can collect payment.