Bodily Injury Requirements in Tennessee
Bodily injury liability insurance is mandatory in Tennessee and most states around the country. It helps pay for any injuries the other driver may have sustained when you're at fault for an auto accident.
Bodily injury liability limits are required at the limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in Tennessee. You can opt for more protection if you want to be fully covered in the event of a loss.
Property Damage Requirements in Tennessee
Another required limit under your Tennessee auto policy is property damage liability. If you're found at fault for a loss and the other party has damaged property, you'll be responsible.
Fortunately, your policy mandates a minimum of $15,000 in property damage liability. Most often, you'll want more coverage than the state requirements due to the ever-increasing cost of vehicles these days.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Tennessee
In some states, a coverage called personal injury protection, or PIP, may be required under your auto policy. PIP helps pay for your medical bills when you are injured as a result of an at-fault accident.
In Tennessee, you don't have to carry PIP, but medical payments coverage that does a similar thing is an option. Contrary to popular belief, without this coverage you would be responsible for hospital expenses out of pocket.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Tennessee
Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your injuries or damaged property when you're involved in an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver. Some states require this coverage, but Tennessee makes it optional.
Even though car insurance coverage is mandatory in Tennessee, not everyone follows the law. In fact, a whopping 20% of all Tennessee drivers are without proper coverage, putting you at risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Tennessee
Your Tennessee auto policy comes with optional coverages for you to choose from. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are among the most common because they help pay for damage to your insured vehicles.
You can also obtain rental car coverage that pays for a replacement vehicle due to a covered claim. Roadside assistance is another popular limit because it provides a tow or tire change when you need it most.
Car Insurance Discounts to Qualify for in Tennessee
Your Tennessee car coverage could qualify for car insurance discounts. One that will save you the most premium is the multiple policy discount when you have more than one policy with a carrier.
If you're part of an association. then a discount may be applied upwards of 10%. You can even cut costs just by being a loyal customer, making it super-easy to save.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Tennessee
If you're in a car accident, it can be confusing to know where to go next. To help, check out these simple steps for filing a car insurance claim in Tennessee.
First, make sure you're out of harm's way and all injuries are tended to. Second, call your independent insurance agent to report the accident and receive a claims number. Third, if your policy allows for a rental vehicle, use it when necessary. Last, connect with your assigned adjuster to discuss the loss and collect any payment.