Bodily Injury Requirements in Virginia
Some coverages will be mandatory in the state of Virginia. Bodily injury liability is one of them, and it is usually considered one of the most useful.
In Virginia, bodily injury liability limits need to be at a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage helps pay for the other driver's medical expenses when you're responsible for the loss.
Property Damage Requirements in Virginia
In Virginia, you're also required to carry property damage liability under your auto policy. This coverage helps pay for damage to another party when you're found negligent or responsible for the car accident.
You'll need to have at least $20,000 in property damage liability to comply with Virginia law. When found without proper limits of coverage, you could face serious penalties.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Virginia
In Virginia, you are not required to have personal injury protection, or PIP, under your auto policy. PIP will help pay for your medical expenses if you become injured as a result of an at-fault accident.
Instead, you can obtain medical payments coverage, which does the same thing and is optional. If you don't have this limit, then any hospital bills will be paid out of pocket.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Virginia
Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your loss when you're involved in a collision with an at-fault uninsured driver. While coverage is mandatory in Virginia, not everyone follows the rules.
9.9% of all drivers in Virginia are without auto coverage. This puts you and your loved ones at risk, making uninsured motorist insurance a good idea to consider.
Optional Car Coverage in Virginia
All auto policies will come with optional coverages. In Virginia, you will have numerous limits to choose from, including collision insurance and comprehensive insurance.
These commonly chosen limits are referred to as "full coverage" and are necessary if you don't want to fork over money for a loss. Comprehensive and collision insurance pays for damage to your insured vehicles should you have an accident. Check with your trusted adviser for more options under your auto policy.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Virginia
You can obtain discounts on insurance fairly easily, if you know where to look. A multiple policy discount can be applied when you have more than one policy with the same carrier.
Another way to cut costs is by being loyal to one insurance company for a period of time. There are several ways to save anywhere from 5% to 30% on coverage depending on if you qualify. Connect with your agent for discounts that you can use.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Virginia
Having a car accident can be a nightmare. To make it simple, follow these four easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Virginia
First, get to a safe place and have a professional tend to any injuries. Second, call your independent insurance agent to report the loss and collect a claims number. Third, if a replacement vehicle is necessary and coverage applies, get that set up with your carrier. Last, connect with your adjuster to go over the accident and discuss payment.