Bodily Injury Requirements in Oregon
When you're involved in a collision and at fault, you'll be responsible for the other driver's injuries. Fortunately, bodily injury liability can help pay for medical expenses that arise when you're to blame.
In Oregon, bodily injury liability limits are required at a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. With the cost of hospital bills increasing, many people are opting for higher coverage.
Property Damage Requirements in Oregon
Each state typically requires property damage liability in some form. This coverage is crucial and helps pay for property damage you may have caused due to an auto accident.
In Oregon, you'll be responsible for obtaining at least $20,000 in property damage liability. However, with the cost of vehicles these days, you may want to consider higher limits of protection.
Personal Injury Protection Coverage Requirements in Oregon
Every state will have its own take on personal injury protection, or PIP. This coverage helps pay for your medical expenses when you have an at-fault accident where you become injured.
Fortunately, Oregon does require every road participant to carry PIP. This better serves you in your time of need so expensive hospital bills don't have to come out of your own pocket.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Oregon
Some states, including Oregon, require uninsured motorist coverage when purchasing auto insurance. This limit is necessary when you're involved in an accident with an uninsured driver and have damage or injuries to pay for.
Although car insurance is a requirement, not everyone follows the law. In Oregon, roughly 12.7% of drivers are currently uninsured, putting you at an increased risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Oregon
When it comes to auto coverage, you'll have some choice between different coverage amounts. Some of the most common choices are known collectively as "full coverage." Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance help pay for damage to your insured cars.
In the event of a loss, there aren't any coverages that pay for your damage for an at-fault accident unless you add it beforehand. Connect with your agent to ensure that you've got all the protection you need under your auto policy.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Oregon
In Oregon, car insurance discounts can help lower rates and keep your budget in check. Fortunately, there are a few options that are pretty easy to qualify for when shopping for car insurance.
When you have more than one policy with a carrier, you'll be eligible for a multiple policy discount that cuts costs by 30% on average. And if you're part of an association, you'll save another 10% with most carriers. Check with your local agent to see in what ways you can save.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Oregon
An accident can occur at any moment, and being prepared can help. Remember these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Oregon.
First, find a safe place and seek necessary medical attention. Second, call your independent insurance agent and file the loss while obtaining your claims number. Third, get a rental vehicle if your coverage allows and you need a replacement. Last, connect with your assigned adjuster for payment.