Bodily Injury Requirements in Michigan
In Michigan, you're required to carry the state minimum limits of bodily injury liability at limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. This coverage pays for the medical expenses of another driver that becomes injured due to an accident you caused.
Depending on where you obtain your car insurance in Michigan, you may be required to carry $250,000 per person and $500,000 per accident in bodily injury. Talk to your professional adviser to see which applies to you and your situation.
Property Damage Requirements in Michigan
You'll be required to purchase property damage liability under your auto policy in Michigan. This coverage helps pay for damage to another person's vehicle when you're at fault for the accident.
State law required every driver to maintain the minimum limits of protection. In Michigan, you'll need at least $10,000 in property damage liability insurance to comply with local law.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Michigan
Michigan has insurance reform that has changed personal injury protection, or PIP. This new reform has given each person 4 different options, based on their criteria, to choose from.
Contrary to popular belief, you're not covered for injuries that you sustain from an at-fault accident without PIP insurance. The different options you'll have for PIP are: (1) $50,000 for drivers enrolled in Medicaid; (2) $250,000; (3) $500,000; and (4) unlimited or no limit. You'll need to review which applies to you with a trusted expert.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Michigan
In Michigan, you're not required to carry uninsured motorist coverage by law. However, if you want to be fully protected, uninsured motorist coverage will help pay for your injury or damage due to an accident with an uninsured driver.
Unfortunately, just because car insurance is mandatory in Michigan doesn't mean everyone follows the law. There is still 20.3% of the driving population in Michigan without auto coverage, putting you at risk.
Optional Car Coverage in Michigan
If you're searching for full coverage in Michigan, you'll need more than the minimum liability limits. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance will help pay for damage to your vehicle and can be purchased for an additional premium.
Another coverage is rental car insurance that reimburses you when you need a replacement vehicle due to a covered loss. Roadside assistance can also help when you're stranded and need a tire changed or a tow.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Michigan
When it comes to discounts on car insurance in Michigan, there are several ways to save a buck. One of the easiest is to have more than one policy with the same carrier to obtain savings of 30% or more on car insurance.
If you're part of a teachers union or government agency, you'll qualify for an association discount. And if you're keen on being loyal to the same insurance company for a number of years, you can get a loyalty discount.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Michigan
When filing a car insurance claim, it can be difficult to remember what to do in the heat of the moment. Check out these easy steps for reporting a car insurance claim in Michigan
First, get to a safe spot and ensure that medical attention is sought if necessary. Next, call your independent insurance agent and report the accident. Third, obtain a claim number for your agent and a rental car if needed. Last, schedule a meeting with your adjuster to go over the claim and receive payment.