Bodily Injury Requirements in North Carolina
Bodily injury liability helps pay for the other party's medical expenses when you're at fault for an accident. This coverage will save your personal finances from being exhausted when injuries stack up in an auto claim.
In North Carolina, bodily injury limits need to be at least $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. While only the minimum limits of coverage are required, you may want more to ensure that you're fully protected.
Property Damage Requirements in North Carolina
Property damage liability will pay for damage to another driver's property that you've caused. This is a limit you're required to carry in North Carolina when using the roadways.
You'll need at least $25,000 in property damage liability to comply with North Carolina laws. If you're without proper coverage you could face serious fines or worse.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in North Carolina
In certain states, you're required to have what's called personal injury protection, or PIP, under your car insurance policy. However, North Carolina does not mandate this protection and instead gives you the option of another limit.
You will be able to purchase medical payments coverage that will do something similar to PIP, and protect your pocketbook from medical bills that you're responsible for due to an at-fault accident. Check with your adviser about carrier offerings for this coverage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in North Carolina
Uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your expenses when you are involved in an accident with a driver that is without insurance. In North Carolina, 6.5% of the driving population is currently uninsured, putting you at risk.
While you're required to carry uninsured motorist coverage in North Carolina, not everyone does. To be completely protected, consult with a trained professional about your limits.
Optional Car Coverage in North Carolina
You'll have several optional limits when it comes to your auto insurance policy. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are two coverage options that are commonly used to protect your personal vehicles when damage occurs.
Without these options you won't have financial help to repair or replace your autos when you're at fault for an accident. This can be a big burden for anyone and should be considered when purchasing a car policy.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in North Carolina
There are numerous car insurance discounts that you could qualify for when purchasing an auto policy. One of the major ways to cut costs is by having more than one policy with your carrier. This typically gives you a multiple policy discount of 30%.
In North Carolina, if you're in an association like a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, you could get additional savings on coverage. Another way to lower your premiums is by being loyal to the same carrier for a period of time.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in North Carolina
Filing a car accident claim doesn't have to be confusing. Here are 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in North Carolina.
First, get to a safe place and make sure anyone who is injured seeks medical attention. Second, call your independent insurance agent to report the loss and obtain a claims number. Third, if your policy allows for a rental vehicle, use it if necessary. Last, get with your assigned adjuster to go over damage and injuries for payment collection.