Bodily Injury Requirements in Massachusetts
In most states, laws govern auto insurance and set the minimum liability limits that are necessary to use the roadways. If you're found without the mandatory coverage, you could be at risk for serious fines or worse.
In Massachusetts, you are required to carry $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage. Some insureds obtain increased limits to have a more robust policy.
Property Damage Requirements in Massachusetts
Property damage liability is another requirement of most states in which you drive. This coverage helps pay for damage to the other driver's vehicle when you're at fault.
In Massachusetts, you are mandated to carry the minimum limits in order to satisfy local law. You must have at least $5,000 in property damage liability to be properly insured in the state.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Massachusetts
You'll need personal injury protection, or PIP, in order to meet state guidelines when it comes to proper car insurance. This coverage helps pay for your medical expenses caused by an at-fault car accident.
Contrary to popular belief, you won't have coverage for injuries sustained from an auto accident without PIP. It's crucial to obtain the right protection so you're not in serious financial trouble when a loss occurs.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Massachusetts
Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your damage and medical expenses when you're involved in an accident with a driver that does not have insurance. In Massachusetts, uninsured motorist coverage is required when you're a licensed driver.
Currently, Massachusetts has 6.2% of it's driving population uninsured. This puts you and your family at risk each time you use the roads.
Optional Car Coverage in Massachusetts
You'll have several options when it comes to choosing your Massachusetts car insurance coverage. While the minimum liability limits, PIP, and uninsured motorist insurance are required, that doesn't give you much coverage for your vehicles.
Adding collision insurance and comprehensive insurance to your auto policy can ensure that damage to your cars are covered. You can also obtain roadside assistance to help when you're stranded, and rental car coverage when you need a replacement vehicle due to a covered loss.
Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in Massachusetts
The best discounts on car insurance can be found through most carriers. Some of the commonly used discounts that you could qualify for are pretty easy to get.
If you're part of a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, you could get an association discount of 10%. Another way to save is by being loyal to the same carrier for more multiple years, you'll cut costs. And the biggest discount you can obtain is a multiple policy discount when you insure more than one item with an insurance company.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Massachusetts
When you're in the thick of an auto accident, it can be overwhelming. To keep it simple, take a peek at these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in Massachusetts.
First, get to a safe spot and tend to any injuries if applicable. Second, call your independent insurance agent to file the claim. Third, obtain a claims number from your agent and a temporary vehicle if coverage allows. Last, meet with your adjuster to go over damage and talk payment.