South Carolina Car Insurance FAQ - Quick Answers

In South Carolina, the average annual car insurance premium is $1,210, coming in less expensive than the national number of $1,311 per year. Check with a local adviser on ways you can cut costs on your coverage.

There are numerous risk factors that carriers look for when rating your South Carolina auto policy. Below are the most common items that affect your car insurance premiums:

  • Your age
  • Your driving record
  • Your address
  • Your annual mileage
  • Your vehicle's value
  • Your claims history

While your South Carolina auto policy will be unique to you, the following coverage selections are common:

  • Bodily injury liability: Pays for medical expenses of others.
  • Property damage liability: Pays for property damage of others.
  • Medical payments: Pays for your medical expenses.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Pays for an accident involving an uninsured/underinsured motorist.
  • Comprehensive: Pays for damage caused by a non-collision event such as a hailstorm.
  • Collision: Pays for damage caused by a collision with another driver.

In South Carolina, you're required to carry the minimum limits of coverage shown below in order to drive:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage liability
  • Uninsured motorist liability 

There are several car insurance markets that you could get coverage through. In South Carolina, Travelers, State Auto, Nationwide, and Progressive are all top insurance companies to choose from. These carriers get high marks because of their superior claims service and coverage offerings.

No, South Carolina is not a "no-fault" state. South Carolina is what you call an "at-fault" state, which means the responsible party is the one paying for the loss. 

Comprehensive car insurance in South Carolina is an optional coverage that can be used to further protect your vehicle. This limit provides insurance for any damage to your covered autos caused by a non-collision event such as a hailstorm or garage fire.

Do You Know What Your Car Insurance Covers in South Carolina?

Find the Best Insurance in Your City

How does your city measure up to the national average?

National average time spent commuting 26.9 Min

National average car thefts per 1,000 2.3 Year

National average car insurance cost $1,311 Year

CityCommute time (min)Auto theft rate per 1,000 VehiclesAnnual insurance cost
Columbia15.86.69$1,094
Charleston22.83.59$1,205
North Charleston248.37$1,086
Mount Pleasant23.31.1$1,362
Rock Hill24.62.47$1,086
Greenville19.53.11$1,176
Summerville29.61.99$1,206
Georgetown24.53.32$1,324
North Myrtle Beach21.55.73$1,363
Aiken23.23.17$1,131
Myrtle Beach17.56.54$1,235
Anderson18.84.58$1,101
Greer23.72.34$990
Greenwood21.10.94$1,116

Bodily Injury Requirements in South Carolina

Bodily injury liability under your auto policy helps pay for the medical expenses of the other party involved in a car accident when you're found at fault. Almost every state requires this coverage in some form or fashion.

In South Carolina, bodily injury liability limits need a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. With the rising costs of hospital bills, most insureds obtain higher limits than these.

Property Damage Requirements in South Carolina

To have sufficient auto insurance that follows local law, property damage liability is useful in South Carolina. This coverage helps pay for damage to another party's property when you're at fault.

You'll be responsible for acquiring a minimum of $25,000 in property damage liability in South Carolina. When you're found without the required amounts of coverage, you could be fined.

Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in South Carolina

Some states require personal injury protection, or PIP, in order to use the roadways. PIP is designed to pay for your medical expenses due to a car accident that you're responsible for causing.

In South Carolina, you are not mandated to have PIP. However, you can purchase medical payments coverage that provides similar coverage. Medical payments can be added to your auto policy for an extra premium. 

Uninsured Motorist Coverage in South Carolina

Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your damage and medical expenses when you're involved in an accident with a driver that doesn't have coverage. Some states require this limit in order to drive, and South Carolina is one of them. 

With approximately 9.4% of all South Carolina drivers currently uninsured, this coverage is vital. Although car insurance is required, not every one follows the law, and for that reason you need protection.

car

Save on Car Insurance

Our independent agents shop around to find you the best coverage.


Optional Car Coverage in South Carolina

Your South Carolina auto policy will come with optional coverage offerings. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance are common limits that provide protection for when your vehicle becomes damaged due to an at-fault accident.

In order to have full coverage for your autos, you'll need to add limits that protect your property. Currently, your car insurance is going to only come standard with coverages that pay for the other party's damage and injuries when you're at fault. 

Car Insurance Discounts to Consider in South Carolina

You can obtain discounts on insurance in South Carolina pretty easily. The most common way to cut costs is by having multiple policies with the same carrier for instant savings of 30% or more.

If you're a part of an association like a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency, you'll often qualify for a 10% savings. Also, if you are keen on being loyal to one carrier, then you'll get another discount on coverage. 

How to File a Car Insurance Claim in South Carolina

When it comes to reporting a claim, it can be nerve-racking, to say the least. Check out these 4 easy steps for filing a car insurance claim in South Carolina.

First, ensure everyone is safe and any injuries are tended to. Second, call your independent insurance agent to file the loss and get your claims number. Third, obtain a rental vehicle when necessary and coverage allows. Finally, schedule a call with your adjuster to discuss the accident and collect any payment due.