Bodily Injury Requirements in Georgia
There are bodily injury requirements in almost every state. Georgia is no different and mandates that every driver on the road carry the state minimum limits of coverage.
Bodily injury liability in Georgia must be at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident to comply with local law. This coverage will help pay for medical expenses of another driver that is injured due to your at-fault accident.
Property Damage Requirements in Georgia
You'll need to have the minimum limits of property damage liability in most states. In Georgia, you'll be required to carry $25,000 in property damage liability to meet state guidelines.
Most of the time, insureds opt for more coverage due to the high price of vehicles these days. When you're involved in an at-fault accident, you'll be responsible for damage to another party, and that's exactly what property damage liability covers.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Georgia
In Georgia, personal injury protection is not required by law, but you may want to consider medical payments coverage. This protection provides insurance for your medical expenses if you're involved in an at-fault accident and have injuries.
Most insureds are not aware that they won't have coverage for there own medical bills without adding medical payments insurance. The amount of coverage you'll need can be decided with the help of a local expert.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Georgia
When searching for car insurance, consider uninsured motorist coverage. This limit is not required in Georgia, but it's necessary for complete protection.
Uninsured motorist insurance pays for damage or injury you sustain from an accident with an uninsured driver. Even though car insurance is a requirement, not all drivers comply. In Georgia, 12.0% of the driving population is without coverage.
Optional Car Coverage in Georgia
You'll have options on car insurance when it comes to picking out coverages. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance will help pay for damage to your vehicle resulting from a covered claim.
You can also add rental car reimbursement for when you need a replacement vehicle when yours has been damaged. Roadside assistance is another option for when you are stranded on the side of the road and need a tow or tire change.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Georgia
In order to get discounts on car insurance, you'll need to know what they are. A big one to consider is having more than one policy with the same carrier for a multiple policy discount. This one could save you 30% or more on coverage.
When you're in a teachers union, government agency, or attorney group, you can get discounts for being a part of an association. And if you've been with the same insurance company for a number of years, there's usually a loyalty discount you could qualify for.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Georgia
When it comes to reporting a car insurance claim, it can be overwhelming. Remember these 4 easy steps for filing a loss in Georgia for the best experience in a tough situation.
First, make sure everyone is safe and medical attention is sought when necessary. Second, report the claim to your independent insurance agent. Third, obtain the claim number assigned and get a rental vehicle if needed and if coverage allows. Last, meet with your adjuster and collect payment.