Bodily Injury Requirements in Florida
In Florida, bodily injury liability insurance is not required by law. However, it's especially necessary. If you get into an accident and have to pay for another driver's medical expenses, you'll only be covered with bodily injury liability.
Each state has different regulations when it comes to car insurance coverage. No matter what your state guidelines are, reviewing your options to determine what suits your needs and budget is vital.
Property Damage Requirements in Florida
Property damage liability pays for damage to another party's property when an at-fault auto accident occurs. In Florida, you are required by law to carry the minimum limits of coverage at $10,000 in property damage liability.
Even though $10,000 is all that is mandated by law, it's often not enough protection in a more substantial loss. A good rule of thumb is to go over coverage options with a trained professional to ensure you're getting the right limits for your needs.
Personal Injury Protection Requirements in Florida
In Florida, if you sustain injuries from an at-fault car accident, you'll only have coverage for medical bills when you have personal injury protection. Most policies carry the minimum limits of coverage, which is often not enough.
Unfortunately, a lot of insureds aren't even aware that this coverage exists until it's too late and they don't have the right protection in place. Florida does require each licensed driver to carry personal injury protection in order to use the roadways. The limits needed can be discussed with a trusted adviser.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Florida
Uninsured motorist coverage will help pay for damage or injury resulting from an accident with an uninsured driver. This limit is not required in Florida, but super-necessary if you want proper protection on the road.
Unfortunately, even though car insurance is required, not everyone follows the law. In Florida, 26.7% of the drivers are uninsured, putting you in harms way.
Optional Car Coverage in Florida
There will be optional coverages you can include under your Florida auto policy for an additional premium. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance will help pay for damage to your vehicle when an accident occurs, and is known as full coverage.
Another protection you can add is roadside assistance for your flat tires and tows. And rental car coverage can be purchased for when you're needing a replacement vehicle while your car is being repaired due to a claim.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Florida
One of the biggest Florida car insurance discounts you can get is called the multiple policy discount. This can save you 30% or more on premiums. The same is true with vehicle safety. The safer your car features are, the better your discount on insurance.
Another way to save is by being a member of an association such as a teachers union, attorney group, or government agency. Carriers usually give a 5% to 10% discount depending on the association. You'll also be rewarded for your longevity with the insurance company.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Florida
When you're in a car accident it can be overwhelming to know what to do next. To make it simple, take a look at these 4 easy steps to filing a car insurance claim in Florida.
First, get to a safe place and tend to any injuries if necessary. Second, call your independent insurance agent to report the accident so that they can file a claim. Third, get the claim number for your agent and secure a rental car if needed. Last, set up a meeting with your assigned adjuster and collect payment for the claim.