Bodily Injury Requirements in Maryland
Bodily injury liability in Maryland is mandated by state law. If you're a driver in Maryland, you're responsible for maintaining $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability.
This coverage helps pay for the medical expense of another driver when you're at fault for an accident. When you're selecting your coverage amounts, review your limits with a trained professional for accuracy.
Property Damage Requirements in Maryland
Maryland requires all drivers to obtain property damage liability in order to use the roadways. This coverage is vital and helps pay for damage to another party's vehicle when you're at fault.
The state minimum limit you'll need to include under your car insurance policy is $15,000 in property damage liability. Most insureds opt in for additional coverage to have more robust insurance.
Medical Payments Coverage Requirements in Maryland
In Maryland, personal injury protection, or PIP, is required by law. PIP helps pay for your medical expenses when you sustain an injury due to an at-fault loss.
Contrary to popular belief, if you don't have PIP coverage, then you'll be on the hook for your medical bills. Without proper protection you could also face serious penalties.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Maryland
Uninsured motorist coverage is necessary in all states and especially when it's required. In Maryland, 12.4% of the drivers on the road are uninsured.
Fortunately, Maryland requires uninsured motorist coverage so that your medical expenses and damage due to an accident with an uninsured driver is paid for. Protect yourself and your loved ones with the proper limits of uninsured motorist coverage.
Optional Car Coverage in Maryland
If you want full coverage, you'll need more than just the standard liability limits required in Maryland. Collision insurance and comprehensive insurance pays for damage to your vehicle when an accident occurs.
If you want help when stranded on the side of the road, then roadside assistance pays for a tow or tire change. When you're vehicle is out of commission due to a covered claim, rental car coverage can help. Check optional limits with your adviser to get protection that applies to your situation.
Car Insurance Discounts to Ask for in Maryland
When you're on the hunt for discounts on car insurance, it's good to know what's available. You may qualify for different ways to save depending on your situation.
Speak with your Maryland agent about a multiple policy discount when you have more than one policy with the same carrier. Another is the loyalty discount that saves premium when you've been with the same insurance company for a certain period. And if you're part of an association, you can get a discount that gives you up to 10% off auto insurance.
How to File a Car Insurance Claim in Maryland
When you're involved in an auto accident, it can be overwhelming. Look at these simple-to-remember steps for filing a car insurance claim in Maryland.
First, seek medical attention if necessary and get to a safe spot. Second, report the loss to your independent insurance agent. Third, obtain the claims number and a rental vehicle if coverage allows. Last, discuss claim with your adjuster and collect payment.